Yesterday I flew to DC to spend a few days before my SIT cohort heads to Vermont.  It was elation for me to be traveling again.  I sported my baldness and heals throughout the airport.  Cori, my classmate, swooped me up from DCA and we were off to a Development event on gender and funding.  I sat in a conference room filled with Development professionals peering out at Capitol Hill near Federal Center thinking how lucky I am.  My subconsciousness was telling me this is where I need to be.

As I listened to the panelist speak about civil society, USAID funding, and gender I really knew that I have missed the DC life.  I mean all the suits and snobbish “one-upers” are really not my taste, but if I am going to make it in this business I have to find a way to work with them.  I felt like I have finally found my voice.  I can no longer hide behind my ‘just a student status’.  I stand out.

Cori says I look like a European badass. In certain ways that’s how I feel.  I’m a badass. Yes, I am getting use to all the stares and I am more comfortable in my own skin than I was last fall.