After nesting in the house for a good 2 weeks I decided last night would be the night I would embark on a whole new routine.  P90X.  It’s the latest and greatest workout hype for PCVs in Romania.  So I gathered my extremely worn-in tennis shoes, changed into my workout clothes, and cleared a spot in my living room.  I was ready.  Well not so much.  Seriously 2 minutes into the warm-up I was ready to be finished.  An episode of Mad Men sounded much better at the time.  But with spring just around the corner, I told myself I better start now and stick with it.  So fast-forward 37 long and sweaty minuets later… I was really done.  Who can seriously do 1,000 push-ups 10 different ways, sit-ups for 16 minutes, and don’t get me started on the pull-ups (which are impossible since I don’t have a pull-up bar).  Okay well I know there are those out there that can, but this girl cannot.  Needless to say I was over the whole workout thing.  Time to get going on a different project. Laundry.

I was walking from one room to the next when my foot caught the cords.  The world stopped for a split second as I saw my computer, ever so gracefully, fall to the floor.  Oh no big deal I thought and continued on my way.  I returned to pick up the mess and whammmm ¾ of the screen is white with little lines.  Not good. I was in shock.  I know how it sounds. I am in Peace Corps and my beloved computer is out of commission.  Rough life.  Well yes, without a working computer I lose contact with friends, family, Peace Corps, Host Country Nationals, and the world. So now I am upset.  With the 4 inches of working screen I was able to Skype home to my mom, and the tears came.  Yup, I cried.   I was just so angry, sad, mad, frustrated, and worried.  But there’s no comfort like talking to a mother who knows just how to make you feel better.  A couple of calls later to Apple, via Patty (mom) in Minnesota, it was decided: I will buy a new computer in Romania.  For all of you applicants, I suggest you don’t go buy everything new, but keep some of that money for emergency reserve funds.  You never know. I spent hours on Skype researching and agonizing over where, what, when, and how I was going to get a new computer.  I was up all night thinking of money, and if I would get a Romanian keyboard or and English keyboard.

8:00 AM came fast.  Clasa -a-optea a (8A) was blurry eyed and tiresome as I was taking attendance.  At the beginning of every class I ask about the previous week, previous day, and the previous night.  This time it was my turn to share my story. I reenacted what happened.  We all laughed, sighed, oooed, and ahhed.   We made a timeline of events and my emotions. This fit right into the lesson plan of reading a blurb from the Horse Whisperer.  What were the feelings and why?  We discussed the difference between angry, furious, upset, pissed, and frustrated. They read and answered questions.  Homework was to write a journal on a series of events that produced such a range of emotions.  I found that this was a great way to tie my everyday mishaps into teaching. Just what I am good at. I really look forward to reading those entries.

Well I am sure you’re wondering. Did I get the computer? Yes, a very nice gentleman in Timisoara set me up with a new Mac.

I also had my first experience with no electricity in my house.  Problem solved only a few hours later with the local electrician, my landlord, and me in the dark with flashlights figuring out the source of the outage.  Some not so pleasant things happen to me here, but it all becomes an adventure and a story.  Funny mostly.   I will sleep soundly with my lifeline, lights, and one giant smile. 🙂